Skip to main content

Screen Takeover

What is the Screen Takeover?

Screen Takeover is an option that allows you to temporarily override your screen's content for special, one-off events or announcements. You can do this in multiple ways:

  1. You can use the "Set to Screen" shortcut on any of your Media, Apps, Playlists, or Layouts.

  2. Directly through each single Screen view or the Screen listing.

In both scenarios, you'll instantly push your specified content on the selected screens as Takeover content for the time period that you've chosen.


Where can I find the Screen Takeover feature?

Set to Screen as Takeover

Navigate to the "Set to Screen" shortcut on any of your assets. There you will see 2 "Set to Screen" types:

  1. Set as default content

  2. Takeover

Set to Screen dialog with Takeover selected and the duration set to Indefinitely

Single Screen View

Provided that your screen has been registered, you will see the "Takeover Screen" button on the left side.

Screen Details page with the Takeover Screen button marked

Screen Listing

Takeover Screen can be found as an option in "Actions".

Screens list Actions menu with the Takeover Screen option marked


How do I push a certain content piece as Takeover?

In the Screens section, you can either take over your screen while viewing a single screen or by selecting the relevant "Action" on the screen listing.
​
Any content piece uploaded to Yodeck can be used to "Takeover" your screens. This includes Media, Apps, Playlists, and Layouts.
Every time you set a Takeover, you need to specify the duration of it between the following options:

  • Indefinitely (your Takeover will continue until you manually stop it)

  • 30 minutes

  • 1 hour

  • Custom duration (in minutes)

Set Takeover dialog shown three times with the duration options, Indefinitely and a custom duration


How do I know that a screen has a live Takeover?

Live Takeover in Single Screen View

Screen Details page showing a live takeover


Live Takeover in Screen Listing

Screens list with the live takeover indicator and its tooltip

Notifications

After you push a takeover to your screens, push notifications are displayed, depending on whether your push succeeded or failed.

Takeover Success and Fail notifications


How do I stop the Takeover?

Any Takeover can be stopped by clicking the relevant "Stop Takeover" button in the single-screen view or the screen listing. After that, the screen will return to its assigned content.

Screen Details page with the Stop Takeover button marked


Important Notes

  • Permissions

    • If a user is not authorized to change device (screen) content → the takeover action is disabled.

  • The note about the screen's working hours is displayed only when working hours have been set on the selected screen(s).

  • You can override the takeover by setting a new takeover for your screens.

  • Takeover cannot be applied to unregistered screens, so they are disabled in the relevant dropdown.

  • When creating a new media (where the media has not been uploaded yet), the takeover is disabled.

Did this answer your question?